When you delete a file on your computer, it goes to your Recycle Bin - but it's not deleted yet. We show you how to empty the bin
When you send a file to the Recycle Bin, it hasn't actually been deleted. Just as you can take a scrunched-up piece of paper out of a real wastepaper basket, so too can you recover a file from the Windows Recycle Bin.
So it makes sense not to let the Recycle Bin fill up and instead to get into the habit of emptying it regularly - perhaps at the end of each day.
Empty your Recycle Bin
First, check that there's nothing in the bin that you want to keep. If you find any items that have been deleted incorrectly, you can right-click them then select restore.
To empty the rest of the Recycle Bin, double-click the icon on your desktop and from the menu that appears click Empty Recycle Bin.
Want some more help with deleting files? Our friendly tech team can help you with one-to-one support on a range of tech issues. Find out more here.
Alternatively, from within the Recycle Bin itself, click the Empty the Recycle Bin button along the top menu.
A warning box will appear. Click Yes to permanently delete files.
If you want to permanently delete a file rather than leaving it in the Recycle Bin, highlight it in Windows Explorer, and then hold down the Shift key at the same time as hitting the Delete key. You'll be asked to confirm that you want to permanently delete the file.